Staff

Quick contacts:

Email
Troy Campus Library Reference Desk: libhelp@troy.edu

Dothan Campus Library
Circulation Desk: Telephone 1-334-983-6556 Extension 21-331

Montgomery Campus Library
Circulation Desk: Telephone 1-334-241-9576

Troy Campus Library (serving the Phenix City campus and TROY Online)
Reference Desk: Telephone 1-334-670-3255


LIBRARIES STAFF DIRECTORY

Dothan Campus Library
R. Terry Everett Hall
502 University Drive
Troy University
Dothan, AL 36303

Circulation Desk: 1-334-983-6556 Ext. 21-331 

Elizabeth Dill
Director of Library Services
Telephone: 1-334-983-6556 Ext. 21-321
Email: edill@troy.edu
Education
BSEd, University of Georgia, 1997
MFA, California Institute of the Arts, 2000
MLIS, Valdosta State University, 2012
DPA, Valdosta State University, In Progress

Olga Casey
Technical Services Librarian
Telephone: 1-334-983-6556 Ext. 21-325
Email: oknyaz@troy.edu
Education
MLIS, Louisiana State University, 2002
Radio-communication Engineer diploma,
Odessa Telecommunication Academy (Ukraine), 1987

Susan Echols
Library Assistant for Technical Services
Telephone: 1-334-983-6556 Ext. 21-280
Email: sechols@troy.edu
Education
BS, Troy University, 2009
MBA, Troy University, 2011

Emily Hoekenga
Library Assistant
Email: hoekenga@troy.edu 
Education
BM in Music Education, University of Montevallo, 2014
MSEd in Secondary Mathematics, Troy University, In Progress

Mary McCruter

Circulation - Library Assistant
Telephone: 1-334-983-6556 Ext. 21-323
Email: mmccruter@troy.edu

Martin Olliff, Ph.D.
Archivist and Professor, History
Telephone: 1-334-983-6556 Ext. 21-327
Email: molliff@troy.edu
Education
B.S., Auburn University, 1976
M.A., Auburn University, 1979
Ph.D., Auburn University, 1998

Tina Bernath
Archivist - Library Assistant
Telephone: 1-334-983-6556 Ext. 21-324
Email: tbernath@troy.edu

Diane Sowell
Archives Assistant
Telephone: 1-334-983-6556 Ext. 21-434
Email: lsowell@troy.edu

 

The Rosa Parks Library
252 Montgomery Street
Montgomery, AL 36104

Telephone: 1-334-241-9576 Circulation Desk
Fax: 1-334-241-9590

Jeff Simpson
Director

Telephone: 1-334-241-5412
Email: simpsonj@troy.edu

Kent Snowden
Circulation/Reference Librarian

Telephone: 1-334-241-9783
Email: kesnowden@troy.edu

Alyssa Martin
Instruction/Reference Librarian

Telephone: 1-334-241-8601
Email: almartin@troy.edu

Demetha Bean
Library Assistant III

Telephone: 1-334-241-8603
Email: dbean54095@troy.edu

Adrienne Knight
Library Assistant III

Telephone: 1-334-241-9784
Email: aknight138053@troy.edu

Edwina Munson
Library Assistant

Telephone: 1-334-241-8605
Email: emunson@troy.edu

Troy Campus Library
Wallace Hall
Troy University
Troy, AL 36082

Fax: 1-334- 670-3694

Administration
Public services
Technical services
University archives

ADMINISTRATION

Chris Shaffer, Ed.D.
Dean of Libraries
Email: shafferc@troy.edu
Telephone: 1-334-670-3263/3266

Education

  • Ed.D, Educational Leadership, Policy, and Law, Alabama State University, 2014
  • MLIS, Library and Information Studies - University of Alabama, August 2005
  • Ed.S, Administration - Albany State University, May 2004
  • M.Ed, Social Studies Education - Augusta State University, May 1998
  • BA, History - Auburn University, August 1991

Publications

  • Creating a Culture of Grant-Writing in a Multi-Campus Academic Setting, The Southeastern Librarian, vol. 65, n. 2, with co-authors Michael Pearce and Alyssa Martin, Summer, 2017
  • The Patriot Act a Decade Later: A Literature Review of Librarian Responses and Strategies, Indiana Libraries, vol. 33, n. 1, April 17, 2014
  • Small Grants and the Academic Library, Tennessee Libraries, vol. 62, n. 1, March 19, 2012, with co-authors Amanda Major, Jimmy Hull, and Jamey McGowin
  • Best Practices for Hiring Academic Librarians, The Southeastern Librarian, vol. 59, n. 3, September 23, 2011
  • Library Usage Trends and Needs of International Students, Behavioral and Social Sciences Librarian, vol. 29, n. 2, June 4, 2010, with co-authors Donna Miller and Lisa Vardaman
  • Native American Literature in Collection Development, Collection Building, vol. 26, n. 4, Oct, 2007

Awards/Scholarships

  • Distinguished Service Award, given by the Alabama Library Association, April 12, 2018
  • Association of American Colleges and Universities (AASCU), Japan Studies Institute-Japan Fellowship, July 2-14, 2017
  • Intellectual Freedom Award, given by the Alabama Library Association, April 20, 2017
  • I Love My Librarian Award, given by the American Library Association, Carnegie Corporation, New York Public Library, and New York Times, $5,000, December 3, 2015
  • Humanitarian Award (Troy University Dothan Library), Alabama Library Association, April 24, 2014
  • Japan Studies Institute Fellowship: Incorporating Japanese Studies into the Undergraduate Curriculum, American Association of State Colleges and Universities, June 2-20, 2008
  • Goethe Institute/Transatlantic Outreach Program, 2007

Maurice Tillery
Administrative Secretary
Telephone: 1-334-670-3266
Email: mtillery@troy.edu

PUBLIC SERVICES

Reference Desk
Telephone: 1-334-670-3255
Fax: 1-334-670-3694
Email: libhelp@troy.edu

Rachel Hooper
Head of Public Services

Liaison for: Business and Management, and Computer Science
Telephone: 1-334-670-3269
Email: hooperr@troy.edu

Jay Brandes
Librarian for TROY Online

Serving TROY Online, International Sites, and International Partners
More Information
Email: jayb777@troy.edu

Belinda Edwards
Interlibrary Loan Coordinator

Telephone: 1-334-670-3256
Email: bedwards@troy.edu

Jill McLaney
Library Assistant, Interlibrary Loan
Telephone: 1-334-670-3541
Email: jmclaney@troy.edu

Jimmy "Kelly" Reeves
Library Assistant III

Telephone: 1-334-670-3257
Email: jreeves157554@troy.edu

Lisa Vardaman
Education/Instructional Media Librarian

Liaison for: Counseling, Education, and Psychology
Telephone: 1-334-670-3262
Email: lisavardaman@troy.edu

Brian Webb
Science Librarian

Liaison for: Hospitality, Sport, and Tourism Management; Kinesiology; Math; Nursing; and Science (Biology, Chemistry, Geology, etc.)
Telephone: 1-334-670-3198
Email: bwebb@troy.edu

Debbie West
Humanities Librarian

Liaison for: Art, Interpreter Training, Languages, Literature, Music, and Performing Arts
Telephone: 1-334-808-6344
Email: debwest@troy.edu

Kelly Wilson
Social Sciences/Government Documents Librarian

Liaison for: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, History, Political Science, Public Administration, Social Work, and Sociology
Telephone: 1-334-670-3261
Email: kwilson151343@troy.edu

TECHNICAL SERVICES

Fax: 1-334-670-3694

Jana Slay
Head of Technical Services/Acquisitions Librarian

Telephone: 1-334-670-3258
Email: jslay@troy.edu

Ruth Elder
Cataloger

Telephone: 1-334-670-3874
Email: relder71917@troy.edu

Nancy Hamm
Library Assistant III

Telephone: 1-334-670-3470
Email: nhamm98490@troy.edu

Marie Hutchinson
Library Assistant III

Telephone: 1-334-670-3253
Email: smhutchinson@troy.edu

Deanna Walker
Library Assistant III, Serials

Telephone: 1-334-670-3252
Email: walkerd@troy.edu

UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES

Currently Unfilled
University Archivist

Telephone: 1-334-670-3266
Fax: 1-334-670-3694
Email: shafferc@troy.edu